Posted by: nicole | 5 January, 2011

knitting, weaving, and spinning in 2011!

Dear Laura and Jess,

Happy new year! I have some resolutions, too, and a clean(ish) slate – I just moved to a new city, which was a great opportunity to separate the wheat from the chaff, stash-wise. Now I own mostly yarns that I am excited about, and I have a lot of fun projects in mind for 2011. Fibery resolutions:

1. Join Laura in knitting a pair of socks per month. My January task is to finish a languishing pair of Noro striped socks. The colors are fun and the stripes are addicting, but the last one sliced a painful groove into my finger, and the recovery time pushed the second sock off of my list. Hopefully a preemptive band-aid will help!

2. Learn to weave! I was the lucky recipient of a 24″ Kromski Harp this Christmas, purchased from the wonderful folks at Carolina Homespun. Laura and Jess, I hope you can see this place when you visit me: it is a home-based business, so they have the garage of our dreams, filled with yarn and fiber and all the necessary tools. The first order of business for me is to make some dishcloths.

3. Spin some of my fiber into yarn that I can use as the yoke for a bohus-style cardigan. I have several bits of fiber (2 ounces or less) in different colors from spinning class, and I think this will be a fun way to make them into something bigger than a kerchief.

We’ll see how it goes!

-n

Leave a Reply

Categories

