Posted by: Laura | 5 February, 2011

Embroidered Rose!

Itty Bitty Russian Dolls! They open up and nest too!

I love most things crafty, truly, I do. And, I thought I’d learned most of the embroidery techniques I’d ever need (satin stitch, daisy chain, blanket stitch, back stitch). But then, as I was making these adorable Russian Nesting Dolls from Itty-Bitty Toys, I encountered something called the spiderweb stitch.

First of all, there is an awesome diagram in the beginning of the book that explains the spiderweb stitch so intuitively that you will literally look at the photo and be able to start it ten seconds later. (No exaggeration). I highly recommend the patterns in this book, based off my experience with the Russian Nesting Dolls. Amazing. As an added bonus, the book is spiral bound, so you can lay it flat, and use it repeatedly without breaking the spine!

The cheek coloring is the spiderweb stitch....cute, right?

So, here’s a link to a tutorial of the stitch on an amazing blog I found: tutorial

This is an adorable stitch, don’t you think? It looks like a rose or a flower, and I’m trying to figure out when and where I can use it again. I predict the embellishment of some old sweaters or some tiny gifted baby hats in the future!

In terms of embroidery inspiration, I want to add this type of project to my “To Craft” list. Wouldn’t Avon look adorable in embroidered portrait form? Pet Portrait!

Photo by Marysgrandaughter, a seller on Etsy

P.S. I think I can use many of the patterns in the book, Itty-Bitty Toys, to help in my stash-busting efforts, don’t you?

 

Note: You can click on any of the photos to enlarge them…

Leave a Reply

Categories

