Posted by: Laura | 25 February, 2011

Self-Imposed Sock for February!

I’m not sure if I’m getting faster at knitting or if this actually was a very fast pattern. Probably the latter. January’s socks were ribbed from the ankle to the shin, and these ones only have a bit of ribbing at the top.

Details:

I used Blue Moon Fiber Arts Socks That Rock Mediumweight in Boobie 2. (Have I mentioned how much I love blue-footed boobies?! Great colorway name, Blue Moon!)

The pattern was Leyburn.

Cast-on was the Magic Cast On from Knitty. I started with 14 stitches on each needle, and then increased until I reached 50 stitches total.  Before turning the heel, I added 4 stitches to the instep instead of three. On the short row heel, I wrapped and turned until I had 7 unwrapped stitches. After the heel turn, I added the increase stitches until I had the approved 72 stitches.

Result: These were a very quick knit for me. I think the ankles are a little baggy, but I’m still gonna wear these toasties quite a bit.

Also, I love that the “floats” of the pattern were good practice for Fair Isle (more on that soon!). If the floats are too tight, this sock may be impossible to put on.

Finally, their test run on 2/21/2011 revealed that they were toasty warm under my boots, so success!

De-Stash count:

1 skein sock yarn used up for Brainless socks

1 ball of mystery cotton used up for charity knitting

4 balls of chenille sent out as yarn karma

1 skein sock yarn used up for Leyburn socks

Responses

  1. beautiful! the yarn and the pattern go so well together, too!


Leave a Reply

Categories

