Posted by: Laura | 12 March, 2011

I See London, I See Francis

I made this sweater. The pattern is called Francis Revisited.  I used Lion Brand Organic Cotton in Espresso, and I learned a few things along the way…

Dye Lots: I purchased all of the balls of this yarn that I could when I first spotted it at my local Michaels. When I went back a week later, there was another ball, which I naturally snapped up. By that time, I knew I would be casting on Francis Revisited with this yarn.  As I started knitting, I realized I would need at least three more skeins, so I called up Lion Brand Studios to see if they had any on hand. They had three skeins, but each of them was a different dye lot. This is how I ended up with literally six different dye lots.

Top Down: I haven’t made many sweaters yet, but I do know that top down is a great way to knit a whole sweater because you can try it on as you go. So, I knit the body, then I added the cowl as per the instructions and then….wait a minute, “This thing looks like a brown potato sack,” I said to myself.  And what’s more, “There are unintentional striped blocks from the different dye lots!” I exclaimed. This was in December. I threw the whole mess into a bag, to be restarted later.

Why it’s called Francis Revisited: If you knit this, you will want to rip it back make your own modifications, and revisit it. I decided it wanted it to follow my curves a bit more, so I added decreases at the waist and left out increases at the hips.  It’s still a bit big though, so I may “revisit” i.e. rip it out and re-knit it again next year.

In the end, I waited until a sunny day, and I lined all the balls up on my window sill in order of reddish to greenish. Then, I numbered the balls, and I made sure to start around 4, 5, and 6 for the shoulders and cowl, then back to 7, 8, and 9 for the sleeves and 1, 2, and 3 for the body.  Ball 10 was used for the seed stitch edges on both the sleeves and the body.

I would say that this pattern is more of a guideline to an amazing sweater than a set-in-stone patterny pattern.

I would also highly recommend it for a quick knit! To be honest, I don’t think I’ll mind re-visiting Francis in another year.

And of course, I love the cowl neckline. (What a ham I am!)

Responses

  1. I still think it’s fabulous! And having seen it in person I don’t think the pictures do it justice. It looks great on you!


Leave a Reply

Categories

