Posted by: Jess | 24 March, 2011

Giant pur-plah scarf

Laura may have caved on her yarn diet… but I caved with a capital C.  I justify my splurge by saying, first, that I immediately started working on the intended project, second, that I’m already on my second ball of yarn, third, that I just NEEDED to have a giant scarf made from Malabrigo, and fourth, that I held out until March, which must be a record of some sort.

The details?  Well, I did buy 6 balls of Malabrigo Chunky, in a divine variagated purple.  Velvet grapes, mmmm.  Thanks to Ravelry I had a good idea of what the colorway looked like once knit, which is great – you can’t always tell.

My inspiration?  Well, a friend has an enormous scarf that her mom made and I just love big scarves – I mean, I thought my scarves were big – so I had to have one just as giant to bundle my face in.  I really think this could be my main scarf, so it had to be perfect and soft and colorful and everything I’ve ever wanted in scarfy goodness.  And, believe it or not, as the previously anti-scarf knitter, I have never knit myself a scarf, nor do I own a knit scarf.  I’ve been wearing the same red and blue scarves I’ve had since I was 18, bought from a lovely woolen mill outside of Doolin, Ireland.  They are fabulous, don’t get me wrong, but not as big as I had previously thought.  They don’t cover my face and all poking out bits in the freezing weather.  This mamma will do just that.

My only regret is that I didn’t get started sooner.  I would have loved to wear this beast once it’s finished, but that looks more and more unlikely, even though it’s snowing right now.  It’s going to be a perfect knit night project and a good change of pace after the Girasole, which required that I look at my knitting.

For the pattern I’m knitting a diagonal rib, previously called my “Diagon Alley Scarf” because I’m a big fat nerd.  [Update: I’ve renamed this to the “Channels Scarf” on Ravelry].  It’s a subtle pattern that doesn’t roll, and works well even with the variegated yarn.  I tried it once on a highly contrasted variegated yarn and that didnt’ work so well.  Velvet grapes is similar enough in tone.

The Groosalugg: [discussing paint colors] Or, perhaps this unique one called “pur-plah.”
Angel: Purple. Yet you have no problems pronouncing “pomegranate.”
The Groosalugg: It was my mother’s name.
Angel: What are the odds…

Leave a Reply

Categories

